Caragiulo elected new chair of the Sarasota County Commission

Detert to serve as vice chair

Commissioner Paul Caragiulo. Photo courtesy Sarasota County

The Sarasota County Commission has selected Paul Caragiulo of District 2 as chair and Nancy C. Detert of District 3 as vice chair for 2017, the county has announced.

The elections took place during the board’s annual retreat, which was held on Dec. 9.

New Commissioner Michael A. Moran of District 1 will serve as pro tem, a news release says. The votes were unanimous, the release adds.

Current Chair Alan Maio will continue in that role for the remainder of 2016, the release points out. Caragiulo serves as the vice chair.

Caragiulo called the Dec. 9 selection “a great honor,” adding that he is looking forward to leading the board into a new year, the release continues.

“There are some really important things we have to address,” Caragiulo said in the release. “I think the community can be confident that we are going to continue to be responsive and responsible in representing them.”

Caragiulo was elected to the Sarasota County Commission in 2014. He served as a Sarasota city commissioner from 2011-14.

Caragiulo grew up on Long Island’s South Shore, a few miles outside New York City, the release notes. “At a young age, he became interested in public service and civic affairs,” it adds.

He and his wife, Nikki, live in the Granada neighborhood with their two daughters, Sophie and Caroline, both of whom attend Sarasota County schools, the release says.

Like Moran, Detert is in her first term on the commission. She and Moran were sworn in on Nov. 22.