Four Sarasota County commissioners earn recognition for work during 2020 Florida Legislature’s session

Florida Association of Counties names Moran, Maio, Detert and Hines Presidential Advocates

(Top row, from left) Commissioners Michael Moran and Alan Maio; (second row, from left) Commissioners Nancy Detert and Charles Hines. Image courtesy Sarasota County

The Florida Association of Counties (FAC) has recognized four Sarasota County commissioners as Presidential Advocates for their work during the 2020 Florida Legislature’s session, the county has announced.

Commission Chair Michael A. Moran, Vice Chair Alan Maio and Commissioners Nancy Detert and Charles Hines received the honors, a news release points out.

“It’s a great privilege to serve the community along with my distinguished colleagues,” said Moran in the release. “Each year, the legislative session is an important and vital opportunity for our board to work directly with state leaders to advocate for Sarasota County and advance our legislative priorities,” he added in the release.

Leon County Commissioner Nick Maddox, who serves as the FAC immediate past president noted in the release that the legislative session allows local governments to fight to preserve the unique aspects of individual communities.

“This responsibility is only heightened during the Legislative Session, where hundreds of bills are heard that directly impact that quality of life,” Maddox added in the release.

Moran, who serves as the District 1 commissioner, was elected to the board in 2016; Detert, county commissioner for District 3, previously served in the Florida Senate and House of Representatives, among other offices; Maio, the District 4 commissioner, was elected to the board in 2014 and previously served as the board chair; Hines, who serves District 5, was elected in 2012 and previously served as the chair and vice chair of the commission.